33 Women’s Pairs, Eight Mens to Vie for USA Collegiate Championships

  0 Wendy Mayer | May 08th, 2018 | Big West, CCSA, College - Beach, News, Pac-12, West Coast Conference

UCLA won the NCAA Beach team title on Sunday, besting No. 4 seed Florida State 3-1.

The top pair in the country, however, will be crowned on Saturday at the Bridgestone USA Volleyball Collegiate Beach Championships.

The event will feature 33 women’s teams hailing from 20 schools. Five pairs come from the NCAA runner-up Seminoles. FSU’s top three pairings Vanessa Freire/Tory Paranagua, Katie Horton/Hailey Luke and Sara Putt/Macy Jerger are in. Court 4’s Brooke Kuhlman is teaming up with Court 5’s Francesca Goncalves, while Court 5’s Madison Fitzpatrick will compete with Alaina Chacon.

LSU will be represented by three duos: Court 1 pair Claire Coppola/Kristen Nuss, Court 3 duo Olivia Powers/Hunter Domanski and Court 4’s Emmy Allen/Megan Davenport.

Also in from the NCAA Championships field are two teams from Pepperdine, South Carolina and USC and one from Hawaii.

Pepperdine’s top two pairs: Corinne Quiggle/Deahna Kraft and Madalyn Roh/Brook Bauer; South Carolina’s Court 1 and Court 3 duos: Cadie Bates/Katie Smith; Julia Mannisto/Carly Schnieder; while USC’s Abril Bustamante/Terese Cannon (Court 1) and Court 3’s Joy Dennis, who will team up with Briana Sizemore.

Presley Forbes/Cali Bunn will represent the Rainbow Wahine. The duo did not play in the NCAA Championships.

On the men’s side, a few standout indoor players will be in action: Hawaii’s Brett Rosenmeier, Lewis’ Matt Yoshimoto, Penn State’s Matt McLaren, Pepperdine’s Robert Mullahey and UC Irvine’s J.B. Kam.

Pool play begins on Thursday, while the semifinals and podium matches are slated for Saturday. The women’s final will air live on NBC.



Alabama-Birmingham: Kenley Adams / Sallianne Napolitano

Cal: Mima Mirkovic / Alexia Inman; Jessica Gaffney / Iya Lindahl

Cal Poly: Torrey Van Winden / Emily Sonny

Florida Atlantic: Gabrielle Dischler / Jessalyn Kinlaw; Carly Scarbrough / Brittany Pellitteri

Florida State: Vanessa Freire / Tory Paranagua; Hailey Luke / Katie Horton; Macy Jerger / Sara Putt; Brooke Kuhlman / Francesca Goncalves; Madison Fitzpatrick / Alaina Chacon

Georgia State: Tiffany Creamer / Brooke Weiner; Teegan Van Gunst / Annika Van Gunst

Grand Canyon: Molly Turner / Hannah Towne

Hawaii: Presley Forbes / Cali Bunn

Houston Baptist: Jessica Wooten / Aeriel Horton; Kayla Armer / Victoria Hinojosa

LSU: Olivia Powers / Hunter Domanski; Claire Coppola / Kristen Nuss; Emmy Allen / Megan Davenport

Loyola Marymount: Savannah Slattery / Madelon Leiphardt

North Carolina – Wilmington: Nicole Lott / Maddy Kline

Pepperdine: Corinne Quiggle / Deahna Kraft; Madalyn Roh / Brook Bauer

St. Mary’s of California: Lindsey Knudsen / Emily Bible

South Carolina: Cadie Bates / Katie SmithJulia Mannisto / Carly Schnieder

Southern California: Abril Bustamante / Terese Cannon
Joy Dennis / Brianna Sizemore

Stanford: Amelia Smith / Sunny Villapando

Texas Christian: Cassie House / Haven Hill

Tulane: Kaylie McHugh / Madeline Mertz

Washington: Jordan Anderson / Kimmy Gardiner



Florida State: Jon Justice / Adam Wienckowski

Hawaii: Brett Rosenmeier / Colton Cowell

Lewis: Matt Yoshimoto / Jacob Walenga

Penn State: Will Bantle / Matt McLaren

Pepperdine: Robert Mullahey / Owen Yoshimoto

Quincy: Collin Merk / Anthony Winter

UC Irvine: Grant Friedman / J.B. Kam

UCLA: Hagen Smith / Lucas Yoder



Thursday, May 10:
9 a.m.-5 p.m.: Women’s and Men’s pool play

Friday, May 11:
9a.m.-2 p.m.: Women’s round of 24 and round of 16
Men round of 6
2-2:50 p.m.: Men’s semifinals
3-5: Women’s quarterfinals

Saturday, May 12:
8-8:50 a.m.: Women’s semifinal
9-9:50 a.m.: Men’s third-place match
10-10:50 a.m.: Women’s third place match
11:20 a.m.- 12:10 p.m. – Men’s final (Taped for NBC)
1 p.m.- 2:20 p.m.: Women’s final (Live on NBC)
2:25 p.m.: Awards ceremony

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for Volleymob.com after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!