All The Info You Need On The 2018 Volleyball Men’s World Championship

  0 Liam Smith | September 08th, 2018 | International Volleyball, News

The 19th edition of the the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship will he held in Italy and Bulgaria from 9 – 30 September 2018, the first time it is done in a jointly-hosted manner. 24 national teams will be competing for gold:

  • Defending Champions: Poland
  • Host Countries: Italy, Bulgaria
  • European Qualifiers: Serbia, Netherlands, Slovenia, Finland, Russia, France, Belgium
  • Asian Qualifiers: Japan, Australia, China, Iran, Puerto Rico, Cuba
  • South American Qualifiers: Brazil, Argentina
  • NORCECA Qualifiers: Dominican Republic United States Canada
  • African Qualifiers: Tunisia, Egypt, Cameroon

For roster information, click HERE. To access VolleyMob’s Power Rankings instead, click HERE


First round

In the first round, the 24 teams will be spread across four pools of six teams playing in a round-robin system. The top four teams from each pool will advance to the second round. featuring four pools of four teams playing in four cities.

Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
 Italy  Brazil  United States  Bulgaria
 Argentina  Canada  Russia  Poland
 Japan  France  Serbia  Iran
 Belgium  Egypt  Australia  Cuba
 Slovenia  China  Tunisia  Finland
 Dominican Republic  Netherlands  Cameroon  Puerto Rico

Second round

The second round will feature four pools of four teams paying once again in a round-robin system. At the end of the second round matches, the rankings of the four pools will be drawn up taking into account the points scored by each team in the first and second rounds. The four pool-winning teams of the second stage will access the third stage, together with the top two of the second ranked teams.

Pool E Pool F Pool G Pool H
Pool A 1st Pool B 1st Pool C 1st Pool D 1st
Pool B 2nd Pool A 2nd Pool D 2nd Pool C 2nd
Pool C 3rd Pool A 3rd Pool D 3rd Pool B 3rd
Pool D 4th Pool C 4th Pool B 4th Pool A 4th

Third round

The six teams competing in the third round will be divided into two three-team pools by a draw. After the matches played once again in a round-robin system, the top two in each pool will qualify for the semifinals and finals.

Final round

The third round pool winners play against the runners-up in this round. The semifinals winners advance to compete for the World Championship title. The losers face each other in the third place match.


The full schedule for the tournament can be found on FIVB’s Hot Site HERE. Team USA’s preliminary schedule will be as follows

  • 12 Sep – 20:30 – United States x Serbia
  • 13 Sep – 17:00 – Australia x United States
  • 15 Sep – 20:30 – United States x Russia
  • 16 Sep – 17:00 – Cameroon x United States
  • 18 Sep – 17:00 United States x Tunisia

All times are Central European Summer Time (UTC+02:00)


Full results and stats can be found on FIVB’s Hot Site HERE. VolleyMob will also offer daily coverage of the tournament.

TV Coverage

Most countries will be able to view the game’s through FIVB’s subscription platform, Volleyball TV. Some countries will also have network providing the games:

Additional Info

Leave a Reply


Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!