Garcia Fernandez Named AVCA Newcomer of Year Among 47 All-Americans

  0 Wendy Mayer | April 30th, 2018 | Big West, College - Men's Indoor, Conference Carolinas, EIVA, MIVA, MPSF, News

The AVCA announced its Division I-II Men’s All-America Teams on Monday with 10 players each earning first and second team honors and 27 garnering honorable mention accolades.

One individual honor also was revealed as BYU rookie right side Gabi Garcia Fernandez was named Newcomer of the Year.  Garcia Fernandez, who also received second team All-America honors, notched 3.44 kills, 1.32 digs and 0.83 blocks per set, while hitting .269 for the Cougars in 2018.

Among the first team honorees are five juniors, four seniors and just one underclassman, sophomore middle blocker Daenan Gyimah. Gyimah leads the nation in hitting percentage at 535, while also accounting for 2.31 kills and 1.22 blocks per set.

Loyola senior middle blocker Jeff Jendryk became just the 12th men’s player to be tabbed as a four-time All-American, having earned first team honors in 2018, 2017 and 2015 and second team accolades in 2016.

Three-time honorees are: TJ DeFalco and Josh Tuaniga (Long Beach State), and Nicolas Szerszen (Ohio State). DeFalco, a junior outside hitter, earned his third straight first team honor as did Szerszen, a seinor outside. Tuaniga was a first team honoree in 2017 and second teamer in 2016.

Hawaii junior outside hitter Stijn van Tilburg is the fifth returning first team All-American of the group of 10.

Of the 47 All-America honorees, four hail from Long Beach State, while Hawaii followed with three selections. BYU, Ohio State, UC Irvine and UCLA each notched a pair of honors.


AVCA Division I-II First Team All-America

Name Institution Pos. Yr.
TJ DeFalco*^ Long Beach State University OH Jr.
Kyle Ensing+ Long Beach State University RS Jr.
Daenan Gyimah UCLA MB So.
Jeff Jendryk*%$ Loyola University Chicago MB Sr.
Micah Ma’a^ UCLA S Jr.
Brenden Sander^ Brigham Young University OH Sr.
Nicolas Szerszen*^ Ohio State University OH Sr.
Josh Tuaniga*% Long Beach State University S Jr.
Larry Tuileta+ University of Hawai’i L Sr.
Stijn van Tilburg* University of Hawai’i OH Jr.

AVCA Division I-II Second Team All-America

Name Institution Pos. Yr.
Nick Amado Long Beach State University MB RS-Jr.
Karl Apfelbach UC Irvine RS Jr.
Ryan Coenen+ Lewis University OH RS-So.
Evan Enriques^ Stanford University L Sr
Gabi Garcia Fernandez Brigham Young University RS Fr.
Arvis Greene CSUN RS Sr.
Maxime Hervoir Ohio State University OH Sr.
Scott Stadick UC Irvine MB So.
David Wieczorek Pepperdine University OH RS-Jr.
Joe Worsley University of Hawai’i S Jr.

* – 2017 AVCA Division I-II Men’s First-Team All-America selection
+ – 2017 AVCA Division I-II Men’s Second-Team All-America selection
^ – 2016AVCA Division I-II Men’s First-Team All-America selection
% -2016 AVCA Division I-II Men’s Second-Team All-America selection
$ – 2015 AVCA Division I-II Men’s First-Team All-American selection
! – 2015 AVCA Division I-II Men’s Second-Team All-America selection


AVCA Division I-II All-America Honorable Mention

Name Institution Pos. Yr.
Simon Anderson Long Beach State University MB Fr.
Jake Arnitz UCLA OH Sr.
Joshua Ayzenberg Sacred Heart University L Sr.
Leo Durkin Brigham Young University S Sr.
Patrick Gasman University of Hawai’i MB RS-So.
Alexander Harthaller Pepperdine University OH Sr.
JT Hatch UCLA OH Sr.
Christian Hessenauer UCLA RS Sr.
Hunter Howell Concordia University Irvine MB Jr.
George Huhmann Princeton University RS So.
Price Jarman Brigham Young University MB Sr.
Jaylen Jasper Stanford University RS Fr.
Aaron Koubi UC Irvine OH Jr.
Collin Mahan Loyola University Chicago OH Jr.
Brian Negron George Mason University S Sr.
Rado Parapunov University of Hawai’i RS So.
Joel Schneidmiller UC Irvine OH Fr.
Michael Simmons Lewis University OH RS-Jr.
Jeff Sprayberry King University OH Sr.
Tanner Syftestad UC San Diego RS Sr.
Sanil Thomas Ohio State University S Jr.
Pelegrin Vargas Fort Wayne OH So.
Hayden Wagner George Mason University RS So.
Matt Walsh Ball State University MB Sr.
Jack Wyett University of Southern California OH RS-Jr.
Matt Yoshimoto Lewis University S Jr.
Garrett Zolg Loyola University Chicago S Fr.

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!