Hyden/Brunner, Dalhausser/Lucena on to #FTLMajor Men’s Quarterfinals

  0 Wendy Mayer | March 02nd, 2018 | FIVB Majors Series, FIVB World Tour, News, Pro Beach

Four of the Top 10 teams are still in play, including top seeded and defending bronze medalists Phil Dalhausser and Nick Lucena, as the men’s Fort Lauderdale Major action heads to the quarterfinal round on Saturday.

No. 3 Bartosz Losiak/Piotr Kantor (Poland), No. 5 Paolo Nicolai/Daniele Lupo, and No. 9 Pedro Solberg/George Wanderley, who began in the qualifiers, round out the group.

The United States are the only country with two teams remaining as John Hyden and Theo Brunner advanced with a come-from-behind three-set win over countrymen Taylor Crabb/Jake Gibb in the second round.

Pedro Solberg/George are the last Brazilian still alive as No. 6 Alison Cerutti/Bruno Schmidt and No. 10 Gustavo “Guto” Carvalhaes/Vitor Goncalves Felipe went down in the second round of the main draw. 

Losiak/Kantor were the runner-up at the Dela Beach Open Four Star to kick off the 2018 season in January. The duo avenged their championship match loss to Latvians Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs with a Round 2 win on Friday.

Also riding a podium finish from the Hague are Dutch duo Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen, who finished third.

Dalhausser/Lucena will face Brouwer/Meewswen on Saturday, while Samoilov/Smedins will take on Kantor/Losiak, Herrera/Gavira will face Nocolai/Lupo and Pedro Solberg/George will play Hyden/Brunner.


Main Draw Round 2

Bartosz Losiak/Piotr Kantor (Poland) def. Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs (Latvia)  21-16, 21-16

Paolo Nicolai /Daniele Lupo (Italy) def. Alex Ranghieri/Marco Caminati (Italy) 18-21, 21-17, 15-6

Pedro Solberg Salgado/George Wanderley (Brazil) def. Michal Bryl/Grzegorz Fijalek (Poland) 23-21, 21-17

John Hyden/Theo Brunner (USA) def. Taylor Crabb/Jake Gibb (USA) 14-21, 21-19, 18-16

Phil Dalhausser/Nick Lucena (USA) vs. Gustavo “Guto” Carvalhaes/Vitor Goncalves Felipe (Brazil) 21-17, 21-17

Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meewsen (Netherlands) def. Oleg Stoyanovskiy/Igor Velichko (Russia) 22-20, 22-20

Aleksandrs Samoilovs/Janis Smedins (Latvia) def. Alison Cerutti/Bruno Schmidt (Brazil) 21-17, 21-16

Pablo Herrera/Adrian Gavira (Spain) def. Sam Schachter/Sam Pedlow (Canada) 19-21, 21-17, 15-10


Men’s Main Draw Round 1

Alex Ranghieri/Marco Caminati (Italy) def.  Evandro Goncalves/Andre Loyola Stein (Brazil) 21-17, 21-15

Michal Bryl/Grzegorz Fijalek (Poland) def. Anders Mol/Christian Sorum (Norway) 21-18, 16-21, 16-14

Gustavo “Guto” Carvalhaes/Vitor Goncalves Felipe (Brazil) def. Viacheslav Krasilnikov/Nikita Liamin (Russia) 16-21, 21-18, 15-10

Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs (Latvia)  def. Nico Beeler/Marco Krattiger (Switzerland) 18-21, 21-18, 15-13

John Hyden/Theo Brunner (USA) def. Grant O’Gorman/Ben Saxton (Canada) 15-21, 23-21, 15-11

Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen (Netherlands) def. Juan Virgen/Lombardo Ontiveros (Mexico) 21-16, 21-10

Aleksandrs Samoilovs/Janis Smedins (Latvia) def. Dries Koekelkoren/Tom Van Walle (Germany) 21-14, 21-19

Sam Schachter/Sam Pedlow (Canada) def. Clemens Doppler/Alexander Horst (Austria) 21-15, 24-22




Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for Volleymob.com after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!