First Of Three NORCECA Qualifiers Begins September 28

  0 Carly DeMarque | September 28th, 2017 | African Volleyball, Asian Volleyball, Brazilian Volleyball, Canadian Volleyball, European volleyball, International Volleyball, News, NORCECA volleyball, South American Volleyball, U.S. Women's Volleyball


  • September 28-30
  • Langley, Canada

The first of three rounds of the NORCECA Women’s World Qualifiers are starting tonight in Canada, with the remaining two to begin on October 13-15. There are a total of six NORCECA bids up for grabs in these three qualifiers, with Team USA already having qualified for the event as the defending champions.

Pool A – Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Guatemala, Jamaica

Pool B – Canada, Cuba, Nicaragua, St. Lucia

Pool C – Trinidad and Tobago, Mexico, Costa Rica

Pool B is starting early on September 28 in Langley, BC, Canada at the Langley Events Centre. Here, Canada and Cuba are the undisputed favorites to win the event, while Nicaragua and St. Lucia will have the opportunity to play against some high-quality opponents.

Back in the day, Cuba was one of the powerhouses around the world, dominating since their debut at the 1970’s edition of the World Championships. This year, if they qualify, will be their 13th trip to the championship and will look to pick up as a world dominant country once again. From the 1970s to 1990s, Cuba picked up three gold and one silver medals at the event, with their most recent finish being 21st place in 2014.

This year the hosts, Canada, are looking to make their third straight appearance at the competition and ninth overall World Championship. Their best finishes came in 1974 and 1982 when they took 11th place.

In the last edition of the event, from NORCECA, the Dominican Republic, Canada, Mexico, USA, Cuba and Puerto Rico were present at the event. The Dominican Republic finished in fifth place while the remaining teams finished below 15th place.

The teams that earn their bids over the course of these tournaments will join the field among these teams:

Defending champion: USA

Europe: Russia, Serbia, Turkey, Italy, Azerbaijan, Germany, The Netherlands, Bulgaria

South America: Brazil

Asia: China, Kazakhstan, Korea, Thailand

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!