Two Brazilian Teams, Two Americans Win Men’s Pool Crowns at #FTLMajor

  0 Wendy Mayer | March 01st, 2018 | FIVB Majors Series, FIVB World Tour, News, Pro Beach


Pool play concluded for the men at the Fort Lauderdale Major with eight teams earning a free pass to the second main draw knockout round, or Round of 16.

Pool winners include two Brazilian teams and two American pairs. No. 1 Phil Dalhausser and Nick Lucena and No. 18 Taylor Crabb and Jake Gibb represent the United States as pool winners, while No. 6 Alison Cerutti/Bruno Schmidt and Pedro Solberg Salgado/George Wanderley hail from Brazil.

No. 3 Bartosz Losiak/Piotr Kantor (Poland), No. 5 Paolo Nicolai/Daniele Lupo (Italy), Pablo Herrera/Adrian Gavira (Spain) and Oleg Stoyanovskiy/Igor Velichko (Russia) round out the teams with pool crowns. 

Four of the pool titles came in upset victories, three in straight sets.

No. 18 Crabb/Gibb bested No. 2 Evandro Goncalves/Andre Loyola Stein of Brazil. No. 13 Herrera/Gavira upset No. 4 seed Nikita Liamin/Viacheslav Krasilnikov of Russia. No. 23 Stoyanovskiy/Velichko topped No. 7 Clemens Doppler/Alexander Horst of Austria.

No. 9 Pedro Solberg/Wanderley scored a small upset, moving past No. 8 Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs in three sets.


Men’s Pool Play Day 2

Pool A

Sam Schachter/Sam Pedlow (Canada) def. Mathias Berntsen/Hendrick Mol (Norway) 21-13, 21-17

 Phil Dalhausser/Nick Lucena (USA) def. Grant O’Gorman/Ben Saxton (Canada) 21-15, 21-16


Pool B

Dries Koekelkoren/Tom Van Walle (Germany) def. Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner (Czech Republic) 21-14, 15-21, 15-9

Taylor Crabb/Jake Gibb (USA) def. Evandro Goncalves/Andre Loyola Stein (Brazil) 21-16, 21-17


Pool C

Bartosz Losiak/Piotr Kantor (Poland) def. Anders Mol/Christian Sorum (Norway) 12-21, 21-19, 15-13

Juan Virgen/Lombardo Ontiveros (Mexico) def. Marco Grimalt/Esteban Grimalt (Chile) 21-11, 18-21, 15-8


Pool D

Pablo Herrera/Adrian Gavira (Spain) def. Viacheslav Krasilnikov/Nikita Liamin (Russia) 21-16, 21-16

John Hyden/Theo Brunner (USA) def. Martin Ermacora/Moritz Pristauz (Austria) 19-21, 21-16, 15-8


Pool E

Paolo Nicolai /Daniele Lupo (Italy) def. Aleksandrs Samoilovs/Janis Smedins (Latvia) 21-16, 21-12

Michal Bryl/Grzegorz Fijalek (Poland) def. Stafford Slick/Casey Patterson (USA) 18-21, 21-14, 16-14


Pool F

Alison Cerutti/Bruno Schmidt (Brazil) def. Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen (Netherlands) 21-18, 21-18

Nico Beeler/Marco Krattiger (Switzerland) def. Maxim Sivolap/Artem Yarzutkin (Russia) 21-18, 21-11


Pool G

Oleg Stoyanovskiy/Igor Velichko (Russia) def. Clemens Doppler/Alexander Horst (Austria) 21-17, 21-17

Gustavo “Guto” Carvalhaes/Vitor Goncalves Felipe (Brazil) def. Christopher McHugh/Damien Schumann (Australia) 21-11, 30-28


Pool H

Alex Ranghieri/Marco Caminati (Italy) def. Christiaan Varenhorst/Jasper Bouter (Netherlands) 15-21, 21-19, 15-12

Pedro Solberg Salgado/George Wanderley (Brazil) def. Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs (Latvia) 21-12, 17-21, 19-17

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!