Brazil’s Men’s WCH And Pan Am Cup Rosters Announced

  0 Liam Smith | July 12th, 2018 | Brazilian Volleyball, International Volleyball, News, South American Volleyball

Coach Renan Dal Zotto announced his first 15-player list for the FIVB Men’s World Championships, to be held in September in Bulgaria and Italy. Notable absences from the list are outside hitter Mauricio Borges, who will have to undergo a knee surgery to fix an injury sustained during the VNL, and Murilo Endres, whose call up at libero drew the ire of many people in the Brazilian volleyball community. One of the team’s biggest stars, Ricardo Lucarelli is back to the team after suffering an Achilles tear last year.

“First, we lament very much Maurício Borges’ absence, who will have to undergo surgery. He will be very missed, due to his qualities as a player, and for having been with us since the beginning of our training. Now, we’ll have about 6 weeks worth of time to work. This is adequate time, and we will be 100% focused on the WCH. We know this will be a very tough competition, but we will get ready.”

Meanwhile, coach Giovane Gávio called up Brazil’s team for the Pan Am Cup, which will be held from August 12-20 in Mexico. He used the country’s U23 as a basis for the team:

“We are working closely together with the senior team, because our goal is for one day these players to join them. Renan is focusing on the WCH, so I was given the mission to focus on the Pan Am Cup. Our goal is to clinch a berth for the Pan Am Games, and of course, give opportunities to these youngsters to play in international competitions.”

  • Setters: Thiago Veloso (Sesc RJ) and Eduardo Carísio (Minas Tênis Clube/MG)
  • Opposites: Alan Souza (Sesi-SP) and Aboubacar Neto (Taubaté/SP)
  • Middles: Otávio Pinto (Taubaté/SP), Flávio Gualberto (Minas Tênis Clube/MG), Cledenilson Batista (Minas Tênis Clube/MG), Matheus Bispo (Minas Tênis Clube/MG)
  • Outside Hitters: Leonardo Nascimento (Cruzeiro), Henrique Honorato (Minas Tênis Clube/MG), Marcos Coelho (Minas Tênis Clube/MG), Lucas Figueiredo (Minas Tênis Clube/MG)
  • Liberos: Rogério Filho (Minas Tênis Clube/MG), Douglas Pureza (Sesi-SP), Maique Reis (Minas Tênis Clube/MG)

Leave a Reply


Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!