NCAA Tournament Who’s In: The 32 Automatic Berths

  0 Wendy Mayer | November 26th, 2017 | ACC, Big 12, Big East, Big Ten, College - Women's Indoor, Conference USA, Division I Mid-Major, Missouri Valley Conference, Mountain West, News, Pac 12, SEC, WCC

While the 64-team field will not be announced until 9 p.m. ET on ESPNU, there are 32 school names, you are guaranteed to see on the screen during the Selection Show by virtue of automatic berths.

To make it easy for you to check those teams off your list, check out the chart below, which includes each league’s regular season champion and, if applicable conference tournament champion.

If a league’s automatic berth was claimed via conference tournament champion or playoff in the case of the Ivy League, that school is listed in column 3.

In the conferences without tournaments, the regular season champions are listed in column 2. In the event of a co-champions, the team that will be awarded the NCAA automatic berth is marked with an asterisk.

Twenty-one teams punched their tickets with one week remaining via conference tournament wins. Four more claimed their spots with outright conference titles.

The final seven automatic berths were sewed up this weekend with two coming in conference tournaments. Creighton added the Big East Tournament title to its regular season crown and Missouri State doing the same in the Missouri Valley Conference.

Texas won the outright Big 12 title, while the other four berths were settled via tiebreaker.

Louisville and Pittsburgh were crowned ACC co-champions, but the Cardinals are the automatic qualifier.

In the Big Ten, Penn State and Nebraska shared the title, but the Huskers will earn the league’s automatic berth.

In the SEC, Florida and Kentucky were co-regular season champs, but the Gators will officially represent the league.

In the West Coast Conference, its came down to a co-championship for BYU and San Diego, with the Toreros nabbing the automatic berth.

Conference Regular Season Title Tournament Title/Playoff
America East Albany Stony Brook
American Wichita State
Atlantic 10 VCU VCU
ACC Louisville*; Pittsburgh
Atlantic Sun Kennesaw State Kennesaw State
Big 12 Texas
Big East Creighton
Big Sky Sacramento State North Dakota
Big South High Point Radford
Big Ten Nebraska*; Penn State
Big West Cal Poly
Colonial College of Charleston James Madison
Conference USA WKU; North Texas Western Kentucky
Horizon league Cleveland State Cleveland State
Ivy League Princeton; Yale Princeton (playoff win)
Metro Atlantic Fairfield Fairfield
Mid-American (MAC) Ball State (West); Miami (OH), Bowling Green (East) Miami (Ohio)
Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) North: UMES; South: Bethune-Cookman, Florida A&M Howard
Missouri Valley Missouri State Missouri State
Mountain West Colorado State
Northeast Conf. Central Connecticut State; LIU Brooklyn; Bryant LIU Brooklyn
Ohio Valley Austin Peay Austin Peay
Pac-12 Stanford
Patriot League American American
SEC Florida*; Kentucky
Southern Furman ETSU
Southland Stephen F. Austin Central Arkansas
Southwestern (SWAC) Alabama State Alabama State
Sun Belt Coastal Carolina Coastal Carolina
Summit League Denver Denver
WAC New Mexico State Cal State Bakersfield
WCC BYU; San Diego*
 * – indicates team earns automatic berth via tiebreaker

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!