Top Seeded Alvaro/Saymon Out as Round of 32 Wraps Up

  0 Wendy Mayer | August 03rd, 2017 | FIVB Majors Series, FIVB World Tour, News, Pro Beach


 Top seeded Brazilian duo Alvaro Filho and Saymon Barbosa already made history of one of just two No. 1 seeds to drop a match in the preliminary  round, and now the duo are out of the tournament just one match later in the Round of 32.

Christiaan Varenhorst and Maarten van Garderen of the Netherlands pulled the upset, topping the Brazilians in straight sets, 21-17, 21-18 with help from 12 miscues.

“Their strategy really worked against us today. We beat them in The Hague earlier this season, but they were the better team today,” Saymon said. “Of course we expected to go one or two steps further on this tournament, but it’s only our first season together and we had some pretty good results. We keep believing in our team, we keep working hard and preparing for the next tournaments.”

Olympic silver medalists Paolo Nicolai and Daniele Lupo, the No. 11 seeds, also are out after a 21-19, 21-19 loss to Canadians Sam Pedlow and Sam Schachter.

No. 10 seed Alexander Brouwer and Robert Meewsen of the Netherlands also were upset on Thursday. Nine of the Top 12 seeds remain as the tournament moves into the Round of 16 on Friday.

No. 5 seed Alison Cerutti/Bruno Schmidt of Brazil, the defending Olympic gold medalists, are on to the quarterfinals after an easy 21-15, 21-7 win over Edgards Toc/Rihards Finsters of Latvia.

Only one of the three American duos survived the Round of 32, with the other two falling in three-set affairs. No. 3 seed Phil Dalhausser and Nick Lucena topped their Italian foes 21-18, 21-17 to move on. Ryan Doherty and John Hyden lost to the tournament’s No. 2 seed Janis Smedins/Aleksandrs Samoilovs, while Theo Brunner and Casey Patterson were edged by No. 12 Clemens Doppler and Alexander Horst of Austria.


Top 12 Results

Christiaan Varenhorst/Maarten van Garderen (Netherlands) def. #1 Alvaro Filho/Saymon Barbosa (Brazil) 21-17, 21-18

#2 Janis Smedins/Aleksandrs Samoilovs (Latvia) def. Ryan Doherty/John Hyden (USA)  23-21, 18-21, 15-12

#3 Phil Dalhauser/Nick Lucena (USA) def. Alex Rangheier/Adrian Carambula (Italy) 21-18, 21-17

#4 Evandro Oliveira/Andre Stein (Brazil) def. Martins Plavins/Heralds Regza (Latvia) 21-13, 21-18

#5 Alison Cerutti/Bruno Schmidt (Brazil) def. Edgards Tocs/Rihards Finsters (Latvia) 21-15, 21-7

#6 Viacheslav Krasilnikov/Nikita Liamin (Russia) def. Oleg Stoyanovskiy/Artem Yarzutkin (Russia) 15-21, 22-20, 15-10

#7 Bartosz Losiak/Piotr Kantor (Poland) def.  Juan Virgen/Lombardo Ontiveros (Mexico)  21-12, 18-21, 15-9

#8 Pedro Solberg/Gustavo “Guto” Carvalhaes (Brazil) def. Martin Ermacora/Moritz Pristauz (Austria) 21-23, 21-16, 17-15

#9 Pablo Herrera/Adrian Gavira (Spain) def. Grzegorz Fijalek/Michal Bryl (Poland) 21-19, 21-19

Dries Koekelkoren/Tom van Walle (Belgium) def. #10 Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meewsen (Netherlands)  17-21, 22-20, 15-8

Sam Pedlow/Sam Schachter (Canada) def. #11 Paolo Nicolai/Daniele Lupo (Italy) 21-19, 21-19

#12 Clemens Doppler/Alexander Horst (Austria) def. Theo Brunner/Casey Patterson (USA) 18-21, 21-19, 15-10

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!