An Inside Look at the FIVB World Tour Finals

  0 Wendy Mayer | August 14th, 2018 | FIVB World Tour, News, Pro Beach

FIVB World Tour Finals

All eyes will be on Hamburg, Germany, for the second straight year as the top 10 men’s and women’s beach volleyball teams converge to crown the best of the 2018 FIVB World Tour.

Here’s a breakdown of all of the nitty gritty details of the tournament. We will break down the men’s and women’s races in a separate story.

The Money

  • The total prize money for the World Tour Finals is $800,000.
  • The winner’s purse is $150,000 per gender, the largest winner’s check in the history of the sport.
  • In 2017, gold medalists earned $100,000 per gender, $75,000 for silver, $50,000 for bronze, $35,000 for fourth place, $20,000 for a fifth-place effort and $15,000 for ninth place.

The Format

  • The 10 teams per gender will be split into two five-team pools. This is a return to the inaugural format from 2015.
  • Pool play is set for Wednesday through Friday for the men and Wednesday through Saturday for the women
  • The winners of each pool will earn a free pass to the semifinals
  • The second and third place teams in each pool will play in the quarterfinals

The Field

Who’s Missing

  • There will be new champions crowned in 2018 as neither the men’s or women’s reigning champions are among the field.
    • Americans Phil Dalhausser/Nick Lucena just missed qualifying as the No. 11 team in the rankings (with just the top eight earning automatic berths. Dalhausser/Lucena played in just six World Tour events in 2018
      • Fort Lauderdale Five Star (1st)
      • Doha Four Star (4th)
      • Huntington Beach Open (9th)
      • Espinho Four Star (9th)
      • Gstaad Major (5th)
      • Vienna Major (9th)
    • Germans Laura Ludwig/Kira Walkenhorst did not compete on the World Tour in 2018 due to both players becoming mothers.
  • The Brazilian men. Due to several partner switches in May 2018, none of the Brazilian men’s duos earned enough qualifying points to make it into the top eight in the World Rankings.

World Tour Finals History

  • 2017 – Hamburg, Germany
    • Men: Americans Phil Dalhausser/Nick Lucena won gold followed by Evandro Goncalves Oliveira/Andre Loyola Stein (Brazil) and Paolo Nicolai/Daniele Lupo (Italy).
    • Women: Germans Laura Ludwig/Kira Walkenhorst won gold followed by Agatha Bednarczuk/Eduarda ‘Duda’ Santos Lisboa (Brazil) and Larissa Franca/Talita Altunes (Brazil).
  • 2016 – Toronto, Canada
    • Men: Alison Cerutti/Bruno Schmidt (Brazil) took gold, followed by Evandro Oliveira/Pedro Solberg Salgado (Brazil) and Tri Bourne/John Hyden (USA).
    • Women: Ludwig/Walkenhorst topped the podium, followed by Swiss pairs Joana Heidrich/Nadine Zumkehr and Isabelle Forrer/Anouk Verge-Depre.
  • 2015 – Fort Lauderdale, Florida
    • Men: Alison Cerutti/Bruno Schmidt (Brazil) – gold; Phil Dalhausser/Nick Lucena (USA) – silver; Evandro/Pedro Solberg Salgado (Brazil) – bronze
    • Women: Larissa/Talita (Brazil) – gold; Ludwig/Walkenhorst – silver; Agatha Bednarczuk/Barbara Seixas de Freitas (Brazil) – bronze

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!